Originally posted by Tropicana
Americans shouldn’t take for granted their friendly neighbor to the north
we doubling the guards at the patty shop so nuh try anyting.Originally posted by j-kid View PostDi Canadians are ah nice set ah people, an ah beautiful country! Ah likkle hot head at times, but dem alright! Dat is why wi plannning ah secret take over while dem sleeping wan ah dem nights wen dem least expect it.
Then you salt...Originally posted by RichD View Postso how is that better if you don't speak french?
You will get a dirty look then get a sharp "QUOI? Parles-tu français?"
People don't seem to have such a chip on their shoulder about the French thing in Quebec City.Last edited by Tropicana; 09-11-2013, 12:38 PM.
I have been to America and I went to school in a America for a full year and never had any problems. Some African Americans did wonder about my accent but that was about it. However, I realize dat noh say nutten bout de day to day realities that the Americans who live there full time face.Originally posted by FLUFFY View PostHave you not been to America or not lived here to see the disparities and unpoliteness that takes place? You can live next door to your neighbor for 50 years and never know who lives their or their names?
The only thing I noticed is that the West Indians didn't really associate with the African Americans. I found it most bizarre. Perhaps it has changed though when I was on Long Island I noticed Jamaicans living in clusters along with Latinos in a community that had few if any African Americans. I did some searches when I came back and posted what I found about Long Island being one of the most segregated areas in America. Now that surprised me.
FYI, I also had no problems whatsoever and found people to be polite and helpful on Long Island and in Manhatten. Again, I realize that says nothing about the day to day realities and experiences of the people who live there.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThe only thing I noticed is that the West Indians didn't really associate with the African Americans. I found it most bizarre.
my wife went t school in halifax and the same was true out there with the black haligonians.
there is a cultural gap. experiences are not the same.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
maybe the effort is different.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI get the gap but West Indians make an effort to get to know White Americans. Why don't they make the same effort to get to know Black Americans and Black Canadians? Seems bizarre to me.
did you make the same effort?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Yes I most certainly did.Originally posted by RichD View Postmaybe the effort is different.
did you make the same effort?
W.r.t to Black Canadians, there weren't many Blacks in my neighbourhood period. In high school there were few West Indians in my year (very few I can think of 1 girl from Trinidad and one guy from Jamaica who came over when I was in grade 1 and I was friends with them but they didn't live near me. There some Black Canadians from Little Burgundy (also far form where I lived). I got on with a few of them but not all...some had already drunk the Koolaid and saw school as useless so they gave the teachers a hard time...at least that is how I viewed it at the time. Looking back on it, for them to be so negative about school, they must have had a negative experience during elementary school so they were completely turned off by the time they reached high school. I got along with the Black Canadians who were into school.
With respect to African Americans. My world view was different from the other West Indians on campus as I grew up in Canada and by the time I went to the states, I had experienced discrimination. At that point I was actually quite hostile to White people but I outgrew it...except for blondes.
So, yes immediately when I walked into class and all the White people were sitting on one side and all the Black people were sitting on the other, I sat with the Black students. Ditto in the cafeteria. My room-mate was White (even though I had asked for a Black room-mate, yup wrote it directly on my registration card for residence
) Now interesting, I never had a problem with any of the White students but I wasn't buying this "you're not like the other Black people garbage" and I called them on it.
I made friends with the Jamaican students the first week. In fact, they found out I was coming and a couple of guys reached out to me. They called me, came for a visit and invited me to the association. (When I first went down there, I still didn't even have my Canadian citizenship so the Caribbean students association got my name with the list of Caribbean students.) I was immediately told that they didn't hang out with the African American students and dating was tough as there weren't many West Indians on campus. I found this really bizarre
Anyway, I made a point of inviting African American students to some of our events. The 2 groups did not warm up to each other. Prior to me doing that, only West Indians, White Americans and a few Latin Americans attended Caribbean Association events.Last edited by Tropicana; 09-11-2013, 01:46 PM.